News and Views

Winners of Tasmanian Dairy Awards announced

Remlap's Eliza Anderson Susannah Palmer and Michael Palmer. Image courtesy of UTAS

A family dairy farm at Sisters Creek in the north-west has been named the 2018 Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year.

Owners of Remlap farm, Rhys and Cecile Palmer, and Michael Palmer and Eliza Anderson, received the top prize at the annual Tasmanian Dairy Awards, which are jointly presented by the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture (TIA) and DairyTas.

“The Remlap team scored particularly well on aspects of financial performance and herd management, particularly in relation to herd nutrition and young stock management,” TIA Dairy Extension Team Leader Lesley Irvine said.

The Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year is awarded to the business that records the best overall results in the TIA benchmarking program, which measures financial and physical information such as costs (per cow, per hectare and per kilogram of milk solids), milk and feed production, labour efficiency and pasture use.

“The profitability of Remlap has been boosted by individual feeding based on milk production, and a focus on managing pasture to maximise growth and consumption,” Ms Irvine said.

“The Remlap team also excel at people management – they view their team as critical to their business’ success, and results demonstrate this.”

The 2018 Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year was judged by Gerard Mulder, 2017’s winner of the 2017 Dairy Business of the Year Award, and Lesley Irvine from TIA.

The winners of the 2018 Share Dairy Farmer of the Year, Dairy Safety Award, Dairy Employer of Choice Award, Dairy Environmental Award, Dairy Services Award and Young Farmer Encouragement Award were also announced at the event, organised by DairyTas.

DairyTas Executive Officer Jonathan Price said the awards acknowledge the hard work of Tasmanian dairy farmers to continuously upskill across a range of important managerial and practical areas.

“TIA and DairyTas run various dairy extension activities to keep farmers in the loop on innovative farming practices and the latest research, such as making the most of pasture,” Mr Price said.

“The Remlap team participate in the Yolla/Wynyard discussion group, where they have learned tips to increase profitability, and they have also participated in the Burnie-Devonport business group.”

A field day will be held on the winners’ property at Sisters Creek on 11 April 2018.


2018 ANZ Dairy Business of the Year

  • Remlap at Sisters Creek, owned by Rhys and Cecile Palmer, and Michael Palmer and Eliza Anderson


  • Agrilac’s Oxberry Dairy at Waterhouse, managed by David Risbey-Pearn
  • Glenwood Dairy at Sisters Creek, owned by Richard and Melissa Duniam
  • Currajong Dairy at Flowerdale, owned by Duncan and Sally Sadler, Wayne and Linda Hansen and Nathan and Cassidy Lawrence.

Share Dairy Farmer of the Year, sponsored by Fonterra
Wayne and Caroline Saward

Dairy Safety Award, sponsored by Moon Lake Investments
Clear Springs Operations, managed by Tim and Fiona Salter

Dairy Employer of Choice Award, sponsored by WFI
Compass Agribusiness

Dairy Environmental Award, sponsored by Veolia
AgCAP Pty Ltd

Dairy Services Award, sponsored by Elphinstone Stevens Pty Ltd
Bob Bush

Young Farmer Encouragement Award, sponsored by Cadbury
Luke Day

Source: UTAS

Most Popular

Newsletter Signup

To Top